07 Jul

2015 SkillsUSA National Championship


This year five students represented Illinois Central College in Louisville, Kentucky to take part in the 51st annual SkillsUSA National Leadership Conference that was held from June 22-27, 2015. One student was awarded a National medal.

silvermedal SILVER:

Jason Horn
 Graphic Communications

Of the remaining competitors from Illinois Central College, six placed within the top 10 in their competitions.

4th Place Seth Schumacher Diesel Equipment Technology
7th Place Tyler Phillips Graphics Communications
12th Place Mitchell Sandlin Telecommunications Cabling
14th Place Noah Mefford Telecommunications Cabling

As always Illinois Central College had several Alumni and Faculty participating at this year’s National Conference to help assist students, judge competitions, and represent the State of Illinois:

Kim Hawthorne, Kevin Wells, Mark DuBois, Dave Cook, Jeff Gardner, Shari Tripp, Brandy Thatcher, Nicholas Hulva, Michael Raydon, and Jonathan Worent. Eric Hill (former state and local ICC SkillsUSA officer) will be taking over as the State Director for SkillsUSA Illinois in September.

In addition, Mark DuBois and Jeff Gardner will be representing not only ICC, but Illinois and the nation as supervisor and judges at World Skills International in August 2015. They are the first two from Illinois with this honor.

Thank you to all the students and faculty for representing Illinois Central College and the State of Illinois.


28 Apr

2015 SkillsUSA Illinois State Championship


ICC took 70 students and faculty advisors to the SkillsUSA State Championships in Springfield (April 22-25). These Gold medalists have won the honor of competing at Nationals in Louisville, KY in June. Please help me in congratulating the following students on a job well done and Good Luck in Louisville:

Medalists from Illinois Central College:


1  Seth Schumacher  Diesel Equipment Technology (Eureka)
2  Tyler Phillips  Graphic Communications (Pekin)
3  Jason Horn  Graphic Communications (Morton)
4  Noah Mefford  Telecommunications Cabling (Pekin)
5  Mitchell Sandlin  Telecommunications Cabling (Pekin)
6  Mitchell Sandlin  Quiz Bowl (Pekin)
7  Logan Winkler  Quiz Bowl (Pekin)
8  Christopher Boyer  Quiz Bowl (Farmington)
9  Zachary Regnier  Quiz Bowl (Cuba)


1  Kelsey Fields  Graphic Communications (Pekin)
2  Fritz Hinrichsen  HVACR (Congerville)
3  Bryc Myers  Telecommunications Cabling (Pekin)
4  Christopher Boyer  Information Technology Service (Farmington)
5  Joel Nieman  Sheet Metal (East Peoria)
6  Zachary Regnier  Technical Computer Applications (Cuba)
7  Samuel Johnson  Welding (Peoria)


1  Kyle Hoeft  Diesel Equipment Technology (Manito)
2  Alex Schwarz  Telecommunications Cabling (Pekin)
3  Shayla Rippey  Graphic Communications (East Peoria)
4  Joeseph Privett  Internetworking (Pekin)
5  Amy Guynn  Internetworking (Peoria)
6  Jeffery Chiaravalle  Welding (Peoria)

Of the remaining competitors from ICC, 35 of our students placed in the top 10 in their competitions.

In addition to our many student wins, our chapter also won First Place – Total Membership Award. This is the 15th consecutive year that ICC has had the largest overall post-secondary membership.