23 Apr

2018 SkillsUSA Illinois State Championship

This past week, students competed in the SkillsUSA Illinois State Leadership and Skills Conference in Springfield (April 19-21). The gold medalists have earned the honor of competing in the National Skills and Leadership Conference in Louisville, KY in June. Please help us in congratulating the following students on a job well done and Best of Luck in Louisville:

Medalists from Illinois Central College:


1 Josh Mellican
2 Brandon Render Computer Programming
3 Aaron Wilder Information Technology Service
4 Prestin Begeman Telecommunications Cabling
5 Cooper Blakeney Diesel Equipment Technology
6 Krislyn Hightower Photography
7 James Sullivan Screen Printing
8   Elizabeth Ringel Graphic Communications
9 Eric Ioerger Heating, Ventilation, Air Conditioning, & Refrigeration
10 Samantha Killen Graphic Imaging Sublimation
11 Caleb Scott Advertising Design
12 Ibraheem Hughes
Haliah Offutt
3D Visualization and Animation
13 Devin Welchman Pin Design
14 Devin Welchman Creative Photography Display: Digital – Color
15 Haliah Offutt T-Shirt Design
16 Elizabeth Ringel Graphic Communications
17 Alex Davis
Aaron Wilder
Prestin Begeman
Elizabeth Ringel
Brandon Render
Quiz Bowl


1 Brady Lynch Diesel Equipment Technology
2 Alex Davis Photography
3 Devin Welchman T-Shirt Design
4 Curtis Bosecker Welding
5 Caleb Scott
Creative Photography Display: Digital – Color


1 Alex Davis
Creative Photography Display: Digital – Color
1 Austin Schafer
Diesel Equipment Technology

In addition to our many student wins, our chapter also won Gold – Total Membership Award and Bronze – Membership Growth. This year was the 18th consecutive year that ICC has had the largest overall post-secondary membership.

Faculty/staff also received recognition for their years of service. Congratulations to all:

1 5 Years of Service
Julie Howar
Dawn Gries
2 10 Years of Service
Kevin Wells
Doug Peterson
Paulette Sibrel
Shane Seals
3 15 Years of Service
John Baggett
Kevin Thomas
4 20 Years of Service
Kim Hawthorne
Mark Matthews

Thank you to all of the advisors, students and alumni from ICC to assist in making this conference a success. Special thanks to chapter co-advisors Kevin Wells and Kim Hawthorne as well as our faculty advisors: Jeff Gardner, Colin Campbell, Ron Albertson, Brian Weaver, John Baggett, and Shane Seals for taking their time to attend the conference to help the students in Springfield.

Thank you to our chapter officers: Brandon Render, Alex Davis, Aaron Wilder, and Prestin Begeman for the extra help before, during, and after the conference. Special thanks as always to Dr. Quirk-Bailey, Bruce Budde, Dr. Awuah, our administration, the Educational Foundation and to the ICC Board of Directors for your continued support of our efforts and our organization!!