04 May

2017 SkillsUSA Illinois State Championship

ICC took 51 students and faculty advisors to the SkillsUSA State Championships in Springfield (April 27-29). Gold medalists have earned the honor of competing at the National Conference in Louisville, KY in June. Please help us in congratulating the following students on a job well done and Good Luck in Louisville:

Medalists from Illinois Central College:


1 Tyler Smith Diesel Equipment Technology (Farmington)
2 Jessica Cupples Screen Printing Technology (Metamora)
3 Kevin Stephenson Internetworking (Peoria)
4 Brandon Render Computer Programming (Pekin)
5 Devin Welchman Advertising Design (North Pekin)
6 Katelyn Logsdon Graphic Imaging Sublimation (Pekin)
7 Tyler Phillips T-Shirt Design (Pekin)
8 Austin Cobb Welding (Peoria)
9 Jeff Joos
Antonio Barron
Boston Jones
Welding Fabrication – Team (East Peoria)


1 Morgan Pyles Diesel Equipment Technology (Sparland)
2 Shayla Rippey Pin Design (East Peoria)
3 Kerstin Faichney Graphic Imaging Sublimation (Pekin)
4 Alex Davis Photography (Pekin)
5 Alex Davis Creative Photography Display: Digital – Color  (Pekin)
6 Brody Mosher Welding (Peoria)


1 Chris Kittilson Diesel Equipment Technology (Utica)

Of the remaining competitors from ICC, 13 of our students placed in the top 10 in their competitions.

In addition to our many student wins, our chapter also won First Place – Total Membership Award. This is the 17th consecutive year that ICC has had the largest overall post-secondary membership.


Special thanks to the ICC faculty and staff who attended the conference:

Kevin Wells, Kim Hawthorne, Mike Daugherty, Jeff Gardner, Shane Seals, Brian Weaver, John Baggett, Mark DuBois and Jim Hays our bus driver. As always—thank you for your extra help and commitment to the organization. Our chapter appreciates it!!

As in the past, many of our faculty and alumni continue to play supporting roles with the state and local chapters. Congratulations to all!!! ICC Alumni who give of their time as Contest Supervisors/assistants as well: Andrew Fritz—Internetworking contest supervisor; Adam Bollinger—Internetworking judge; Nick Hulva—State Board member; Michael Raydon—Computer Maintenance judge; Mark DuBois–Web Design contest supervisor; Brandy Thatcher—Web Design judge; Shari Tripp—Web Design judge; Jonathan Warrant—Web Design judge; and Eric Hill—Illinois State Executive Director. We have an amazing, active alumni that continues to grow each and every year. We can’t say enough about their dedication and commitment to giving back to the students and the organization. For those faculty advisors who couldn’t attend the conference this year, but spend the year in advance of the conference preparing the students, thank you as well!!

Thank you to our chapter officers and co-advisors (Kevin Stephenson, Brandon Render and Kevin Wells and Kim Hawthorne) for the extra help before, during, and after the conference.  Special thanks as always to Dr. Quirk-Bailey, Bruce Budde, our administration, the Educational Foundation and to the ICC Board of Directors for your continued support of our efforts and our organization!!